Research External Advisory Council (REAC)

Research External Advisory Council (REAC)

Established in Spring 2018, the Research External Advisory Council (REAC) serves in an advisory capacity to the Vice President for Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise.

The REAC advises on strategic planning processes, provides research direction for the university and offers advice to improve operations regarding growth of The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA).


REAC Members

Gregory Neal Akers

Executive Consultant, Cybersecurity & Advanced Technology, Greg Akers Consulting


J. Antonio Carbajal

Vice President, Data Science, iHeart Media


Walt Downing

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, Southwest Research Institute


Lee Derr

Senior Executive, U.S. Department of Defense (Retired)


Renee Forney

Senior Director, Cyber Assurance, Capital One


Andrea Guiffrida

Vice President for Research, University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio


Julie M. Gravallese

Vice President, Workplace Innovation


James Reed

President, San Antonio Medical Foundation


Joanne Turner

Vice President for Research, Texas Biomedical Research Institute


James J. Valdes, Ph.D.

MSI STEM R&D Consortium