Transdisciplinary Research Council (TRC)

Transdisciplinary Research Council (TRC)


The Transdisciplinary Research Council is charged with increasing cross-college transdisciplinary research collaborations on campus and with leading strategic efforts to expand UTSA’s status as a nationally recognized research university, pursuing certain designations such as eligibility in the National Research University Fund (NRUF) and Carnegie R1 status. The TRC reviews new proposals for establishing new Organized Research Units (ORUs) and makes recommendations to approve or disapprove to the Provost. The TRC plays an important advisory role on the oversight of Research Core Facilities, Research Centers and Research Institutes and the overall research infrastructure of UTSA. Recommendations and decisions regarding ORUs will be based on the expressed purposes of the TRC.


Established in August 2018, the UTSA Transdisciplinary Research Council (TRC) brings together executive leadership from all academic colleges, Academic Affairs and the Office of the Vice President for Research, Economic Development, and Knowledge Enterprise (VPREDKE). Its goal is to create synergies that enhance the research capabilities of UTSA, to engage more faculty and students in the knowledge enterprise. The research units foster collaboration among researchers, government and industry, aiming to shape public policy and contribute to economic development through research at UTSA.



Name Title
Ambika Mathur Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Arya Singh Director for Research Computing and Business Intelligence
Bernard Arulanandam Vice President for Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise, TRC Chair
Can Saygin Sr. Associate VP for Research, Economic Development and Knowledge Enterprise
David Silva Dean, College of Sciences
Jonathon Halbesleben Dean, Alvarez College of Business
Jaclyn Shaw Interim VP/Associate VP for Strategic Partnerships
JoAnn Browning Dean, College of Engineering & Interim Dean, College of Architecture, Construction & Planning
Lynne Cossman College of Health, Community & Policy (HCaP)
Michelle Stevenson Associate Vice President for Research Administration and Research Integrity
Rod McSherry Associate Vice President for Innovation & Economic Development
Sandra Garcia Assistant Vice President for Sponsored Project Administration
Sarah Hada Director of Communications, REDKE
Shawn Farrell Assistant Vice President Corporate and Foundation Engagement
Siobhan Fleming Director of Research Development
Veronica Stoller Assistant Vice President, Research Finance and Operations
Glenn Martinez Dean, College of Liberal & Fine Arts
Mario Torres Dean, College of Education & Human Development


Contact Staff

Julie Sylvan
Nicole Beebe

Assistant VP, Faculty Research Development