SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT
SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Sponsored Project Administration

Office of Sponsored Project Administration

The Office of Sponsored Project Administration (OSPA) supports the educational and research mission of the University by serving as the central coordinating office that provides the highest quality Pre-Award and Contract services for submitting proposals, negotiating and executing contracts and agreements in the pursuit of funding for research, scholarly activities, and public service. OSPA ensures that:

  1. Proposal submissions are compliant with sponsor guidelines, and
  2. Proposals, contracts and agreements are prepared in the best interest of our investigators and students, and are established in accordance with applicable federal, state, UT System, institutional and/or other related regulations, policies and laws for sponsored projects.

 

There are two units within OSPA:

  • The Office of Contracts & Industry Agreements (OCIA) provides assistance with drafting, review, negotiation, and execution of financial and non-financial agreements involving sponsored projects and other research activities.
  • The two Research Service Centers (RSCs) provide pre-award support for proposal packaging, review and submission as well as award negotiation and preparation prior to account setup. See our Proposal Preparation Overview page for further information.

 

Our Leadership Team

Office of Sponsored Project Administration

Office of Contracts & Industry Agreements

Sandra D. Garcia, Ed.D., CRA
Assistant Vice President for Sponsored Project Administration
Sandra.Garcia4@utsa.edu

 

Jessica C. Fernandez, J.D.
Senior Director, Contracts & Industry Agreements
Jessica.Fernandez2@utsa.edu

 


Research Service Centers

HEBA (Health, Education, Business & Arts) - rsc.abe@utsa.edu 

Michael Wood, MRA
Director, RSC HEBA
Michael.Wood@utsa.edu

 

Jesse Hernandez
Assistant Director, RSC HEBA
Jesse.Hernandez@utsa.edu

 


SCI-EID (Sciences, Engineering, & Integrated Design) - rsc.sci-eng@utsa.edu 

Liana Ryan, MPA
Director, RSC SCI-EID
Liana.Ryan@utsa.edu

 

Matthew (Matt) Mueck
Assistant Director, RSC SCI-EID
Matthew.Mueck@utsa.edu