SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT
SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Laboratory Safety Division

Laboratory Safety Division

The Laboratory Safety Division and Research Compliance are comprised of a number of specialists from a variety of scientific research and safety backgrounds encompassing chemical safety, biological safety, radiological and laser safety and general laboratory safety.

The team serves as a resource to the UTSA research and teaching community and support faculty, staff and students in navigating research compliance. The Laboratory Safety Division can provide consultations, protocol pre-reviews for research protocols, site and risk assessments, training and lab evaluations.

 

Meet the Team

Richard Garza
Interim Director of Laboratory Safety and Compliance
Expertise: Hazardous Materials Management Manager
E: Richard.Garza@utsa.edu 
Dianna Olukotun
Biosafety Officer
Expertise: IACUC, Research & Safety Committees
E: Dianna.Olukotun@utsa.edu 
Natalie Metzger
Chemical Hygiene Officer
Areas of Expertise: Chemical Safety
E: Natalie.Metzger@utsa.edu 
Quy Fung, MS
Radiation & Laser Safety Coordinator
Areas of Expertise: Radiation & Laser Safety, Biosafety
E: Quy.Fung@utsa.edu 
Alex Santillan, Ph.D.
Chemical Inventory & Safety Coordinator
Expertise: Chemical Safety
E: Alejandro.Santillan@utsa.edu 
Laboratory Safety Specialists
Andrew Denham, BASc
Expertise: Physical Safety
E: Andrew.Denham@utsa.edu 

Cynthia Galindo, BS, ASP
Expertise: Biosafety
Cynthia.Galindo@utsa.edu